Who we are & what we do

Duston Parish Council consists of 12 elected councillors who serve for a four year term.

The Parish Office is located at 1st Floor, Duston Community Centre, Pendle Road, Duston, Northampton NN5 6DT. Our email for resident queries is office@duston-pc.gov.uk

Council Meetings - see the diary of meetings for more information.

For further information relating to the services offered by the Parish Council please contact the Parish Office who will be happy to give advice and assistance.

To see our key policies and procedures please go here policies


A list of our councillors can be found here Councillors

Councillors are either elected or co-opted. Duston Parish Council elects councillors every four years. The next Parish Council election is due in May 2025.

Further information on standing for the Parish Council can be found on the Electoral Commission website: https://www.electoralcommission.org.uk/i-am-a/candidate-or-agent/parish-and-community-council-elections-in-england-and-wales

About Us

Our mission is "Serving the community of Duston". The electorate (the number of registered voters) of Duston is 12,905 (as of 1st March 2019).

A parish council is a local authority that makes decisions on behalf of the people in the parish. It is the level of local government closest to the community. They have few duties but a number of powers. A Parish council, for instance, can directly run local facilities such as leisure centres, theatres, manage parks and establish bylaws. An outline guide to powers of a Parish Council can be found here:

Our History

Following the Local Government Act 1894 a Duston Parish Council came into existence and ran a number of local amenities. However, when the village of Duston was incorporated into the Borough of Northampton in 1965, following the Northampton (Local Government Areas) Order S.I 1965 No. 250, the then Duston Parish Council was dissolved.

After 26 year gap the present modern day Duston Parish Council was formed following the Northampton (Parishes) Order 1991. Our inaugural election and meeting happened in May 1991.

See here the documents as to our original set up in 1991:

  • The Northampton (Parishes) Order 1991 (PDF, 389 Kb)

    The Northampton (Parishes) Order 1991 brought the present day Duston Parish Council into legal being. Previously, there was a Duston Parish Council up until 1965 when it was abolished by Government with Duston being absorbed into the County Borough of Northampton.

  • Inaugural Meeting (PDF, 686 Kb)

    Inaugural Meeting of Duston Parish Council

Our Staff

We have a team of staff that work together to deliver the range of services we provide. They can be contacted through our office at Duston Community Centre, by phone or email.

Justin Gleich

Parish Clerk / Executive Officer

01604 583626
Parish Council Staff

Gary Youens

Deputy Clerk


01604 583626

Alison Grantham

Business & Community Development Manager


01604 583626

Pete Wisbey

Facilities Manager


01604 583626

Sarah Percival

Community Events Officer


01604 583626

George Nemteanu

Facilities Officer


01604 583626

Andreea Vlad

Admin Support


01604 583626